If a project is a file, then the workspace is your folder. A workspace is a smart folder where your projects (sites) live. Make sure to explore the built-in features in these smart folders.
Organize these by topics, clients, etc.
Create New Workspace
Enter your Team Overview where you'll find your Team Workspaces. Here you'll see the "Create New Workspace" buttons.
Add a name to your workspace.
Add an emoji / icon / upload your logo and add a background color to help you seperate your Workspaces.
Add a color palette and any existing hosting at this stage. You can do this later as well in the Workspace Settings.
Click "Create" to activate your new Workspace.
Within your Workspace, you have access to four tabs: Projects, Templates, Hosting, and Settings.
The Workspace name should be descriptive. If you create sites on behalf of clients, we recommend naming the Workspace after the client.
By default, the Workspace will belong to the Team you are on when creating the Workspace.
Inviting external Vev users to your Workspace
You can grant access to this particular Workspace to other Vev users outside of your team.
Add users by entering their email address under the Add new user text field. If the invited party already has a Vev user account, the confirmation button will say Add User. If the invited party does not already have a Vev User Account, the confirmation button will say "Invite", and the person will get an email with instructions to create a new account. The user will then have access to all the projects contained within the workspace.
The user will not have access to any of your team's other Workspaces.
This feature can be used to enable your clients to edit the site themselves, or it can be used to collaborate with resources outside of your respective team.
How to move a Workspace from one Team to another
When adding a Workspace while in the Team Overview, the Workspace will automatically belong to the respective team. If you are on the Enterprise plan you might have access to several Teams, and you are able to move the Workspace from one Team to another.
One workspace can only belong to one Team.
If you are a member of two Teams, you can move the Workspace to another Team by clicking on the Team name and picking another Team in the dropdown menu.
Workspace Default Colours
You can add a workspace color theme; e.g. to apply your client's brand colors to the given workspace. This will be the default palette for all projects created within this Workspace.
Click on the color palette to open the color picker.
You can add customized workspace fonts. These fonts will by default be available in the font selector for all projects created in this Workspace. This is particulary important if you upload a custom font you want to be available for all your Team members working in this Workspace.
Click '+Add custom font' or '+Add Google font' in your workspace settings to open the font selector or the uploader.
Delete your Workspace by clicking the "Delete Workspace" button at the bottom of you page. Follow the instructions.
When creating a Workspace, you can add publish settings (a domain) which will be available when you publish a project through the given Workspace. This might be an existing hosting already set up through the Team Settings, or a new one only available to publish to through this specific Workspace.
TIP: If you use Workspaces to organize client projects, this is where you add your client's hosting settings. Read more about hosting for clients here.
Start by clicking the "Add Hosting" button.
Existing Hostings, created in the Team Settings, can be added to the Workspace by selecting the one you want.
Create a new hosting by clicking the "New Hosting" button.
If you add an existing hosting, you will be directed to Hosting Settings. These Hosting Settings originate from the original Team Hosting Settings and can be kept as they are, or overwritten in this specific Workspace (without effecting The Team Hosting Settings). Read more about Hosting Settings here.
Create a new Hosting by clicking the "Create New Hosting Button". Follow these instructions on how to create a new Hosting Instance.
All Team Templates will be available under this tab.
Templates can be available to an entire Team or to a specific Workspace. Edit access rights through the template Sharing settings.
Projects are basically individual websites, which are stored within a workspace – a file in a folder.
Learn more about projects here.